Board of Directors

COAST is governed by a board of directors made up of representatives from each of the towns and cities served by COAST local and regional routes, as well as partner or community organizations and at-large members. The board of directors has the powers set forth in NH RSA 239:4 and 239:5, is responsible for establishing agency policy and direction, resolving grievances per COAST policies, as well as governing and providing counsel to management. The board amends bylaws, approves the annual budget, develops long-term strategic plans and ensures its own succession.

For a schedule of upcoming meetings, the agenda for the next meeting, and past meeting minutes please scroll to the bottom of the page.

Officers & Executive Committee Members

David Sandmann, Member At-Large

David Sandmann

Chair, Member At-Large

Dennis Shanahan

Dennis Shanahan

Vice Chair, City of Dover

Michael Scala

Acting Treasurer, City of Rochester

Margaret Joyce

Acting Secretary, Greater Dover Chamber of Commerce



Chairman's Appointee

Board Members

Scott Bogle

Rockingham Planning Commission

Adam Causey

Town of Kittery

Sönke Dornblut

Town of Newmarket

Benjamin Fletcher

City of Portsmouth

Lauren Haley

Goodwin Community Health

Denis Hebert

Town of Newington

Colin Lentz

Strafford Regional Planning Commission

Kristen Murphy

Town of Exeter

Maria Stowell

Pease Development Authority

Nick Taylor

Workforce Housing Coalition of the Greater Seacoast

Shelley Winters

New Hampshire Department of Transportation

Thomas Wright

Town of Berwick

Alternate Board Members

Kendra Amaral

Town of Kittery

Donna Benton

City of Dover

Fred Butler

New Hampshire Department of Transportation

Blaine Cox

City of Rochester

Jen Czysz

Strafford Regional Planning Commission

Russell Dean

Town of Exeter

Carol Gulla

Member At-Large


Peter Stith

City of Portsmouth

Joann Neumann

Families First Health & Support Center

Tim Roache

Rockingham Planning Commission

The following entities have a seat on the board, but no current appointee to the Board:

  • City of Somersworth
  • Town of Farmington
  • An appointed representative from a major private sector employer in COAST’s service area
  • One (1) "At-Large Representative(s)" appointed at the Board’s discretion
Generally, meetings are held the fourth Wednesday of the month at 8:30 AM in the conference room at COAST's Administrative Office, located at 6 Sumner Drive, Dover, NH 03820. Because of the continued widespread presence of COVID-19 and the size of the conference room at COAST, all FY22 board meetings have been moved to the Community Action Partnership of Strafford County conference room (577 Central Ave #10, Dover, NH) unless otherwise noted.

COAST Committees (upcoming meetings):

  • Executive Committee
  • Finance Committee - Monday, August 22 @ 1:30pm, Rochester City Hall Annex, Cocheco Room
  • Board Development Committee
  • Nominating Committee
  • Legislative Committee
  • Policy Committee


Contact the Board of Directors

COAST Board of Directors
42 Sumner Drive
Dover, NH 03820

  • Fields marked with * are required. If you would like a response, an email address OR phone number is required.